Shop Autumn Sale >

The Chakras & Stones For Beginners

The popularity of healing stones

Healing crystals are becoming increasingly popular, with people using gemstones to balance energies and become more attuned to their body and mind.

Crystals have been used for thousands of years, with ancient people using them for magical and spiritual powers. Although there is no evidence to show that crystal healing works and is not a form of medicine, more and more people are being open to trying the possible benefits that crystals bring.

Crystals are believed to hold vibrational energy and believed to transmit this energy to you and balance your emotional, physical and spiritual energies.

What is Chakra?

Chakra is an ancient meditation practice and originates from an old Sanskrit word, translating to 'wheel'. Chakra represents the 7 chakras around your body, with 7 different centres of energy. Each chakra is connected to one area of the body and an emotional state. It is believed that by balancing these energies your emotional, physical and spiritual wellbeing will benefit.

How do I use chakra healing stones?

Choose your favourite gemstones linked to the chakras and use them to re-tune your chakras and balance your energies.

There are several ways to use the stones in everyday life, here are some examples:

  • Wear the stones as jewellery over the chakra locations
  • Meditate with the stones
  • Keep a stone in your pocket or on your person
  • Add them to your bath water
  • Sleep with the stone under your pillow or next to your bed

Discover the 7 chakras and the gemstones that are linked to them below...

1. Root Chakra

Provides the foundations of your being, keeps your grounded and confident.

Location: Base of the spine and tailbone

Colours: Red or black

Gemstone examples: Garnetrubyblack tourmalineblack onyx - photo showgarnet cabochons

2. Sacral Chakra

Helps find a connection with others and brings happiness, pleasure and creativity.

Location: Lower abdomen

Colour: Orange

Gemstone examples: Carneliancitrinefire opalmoonstone - photo shows carnelian bracelet

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

Helps us be confident and in control of our actions.

Location: Upper abdomen

Colour: Yellow

Gemstone examples: Yellow jasperambergolden topaz - photo shows amber

4. Heart Chakra

Help us open our heart to love, compassion and joy.

Location: Centre of the chest, just above the heart

Colour: Green or pink

Gemstone examples: Jaderose quartzperidotgreen aventurine - photo shows rose quartz cabochons

5. Throat Chakra

Helps us to communicate and express ourselves.

Location: Throat

Colour: Blue

Gemstone examples: Sodaliteturquoiselapis lazuliaquamarine - photo shows untreated, natural turquoise

6. Brow or Third Eye Chakra

Allows us to be more aware of the world and focus on the bigger picture.

Location: Forehead between the eyes

Colour: Indigo

Gemstone examples: Amethystpurple fluoriteblue chalcedony - photo shows amethyst faceted stone

7. Crown Chakra

The highest chakra represents our spirituality, our visions and helps us reach a higher state of consciousness. 

Location: Top of the head

Colour: Violet or white

Gemstone examples: Labradoriteclear quartzdiamond, amethyst- photo shows crystal quartz points

Make Your Own Jewellery Using Your Favourite Chakra Stones


Crystal Basics, How To Use Crystals For Wellbeing & Spiritual Harmony - Brenda Rosen

The Illustrated Directory Of Healing Crystals, A Comprehensive Guide To 150 Crystals & Gemstones - Cassandra Eason